Thursday, December 12, 2019

Five States of Grief Lament For a Son

Question: 1. How does Wolterstorff find joy after his loss? 2. What is the meaning and significance of death in light of the Christian narrative? 3. How does the hope of the resurrection play a role in comforting Wolterstorff? Answer: Introduction: In every human beings life there are various stages that come across in response to an individuals experience from all walks of life. The loss of an individual due to illness or death caused naturally results to grief. There are generally five stages of grief model which was proposed by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in the year 1969. Denial and Isolation: This is referred to as the first reaction of grief which is generally temporary in nature that leads to generate defense mechanism resulting in immediate state of shock. Anger: the next immediate pain that is reflected is of anger ness. This is directed at our deceased loved one. Bargaining: This state expresses an individuals level of controlling self emotions. Depression: there are two types of depression. The first one relates to practical implication to the loss and the second is more of private which prepare us to be separated from our loved ones. Acceptance: This state an individuals mark of bravery to accept the truth. It is marked by calmness and peace. 1. Wolterstorff found joy after his loss: In the book Lament for a Son, the author Nicholas Wolterstoff he describes his own life mystery as an author and not as a father. Wolterstoff explores his experience of irreversible loss and narrates how he lost his 25 year old son Eric in a mountain climbing accident. Though he realizes his grief and pain of loss but he believes that there are no words or phrases that could diminish the malevolence of death (Buras, 2015). This book is a true gift for those who are very emotional and gets demotivated after losing someone close. The author found joy after such a big loss when he decided to publish it in the hope of people who mourn for their griefs and losses. He resembled to universality. This book gives voice to many forms of losses. 2. Meaning and significance of death in light of the Christian narrative: According to the Biblical understanding death is something which is separation of immortal soul from the body. Death is caused when life of an individual is ceased down or it is a form of transition to a new form of life (, 2015). The most significant part of death is considered as the resurrection of Jesus to his own disciples. Among Christian beliefs, death and resurrection are the two important activities on which the entire doctrine is based upon (, 2015). 3. Hope of the resurrection play a role in comforting Wolterstorff: In this book Lament for a Son the author believes solely on Jesus and he states that someday his son Eric will be alive in some form according to resurrection stated in the Bible. This point gave him a hope and strength to narrate the story of his life so that it would be a cause to those people who loses their self after they come across grief. This book gives an insight into a parents nightmare and also extends grace to the people who simply sit beside on mourning bench and they can be cared upon (Wolterstorff, 1987). Conclusion: It can be concluded that death is a natural phenomenon and can happen to anybody at any point of time. An individual must hold on to a support and try to overcome the waves of sorrows as soon as possible. References Barnes Noble, (2015).Lament for a Son. [online] Available at: [Accessed 27 Feb. 2015]., (2015).The Biblical View of Death. [online] Available at: [Accessed 27 Feb. 2015]. Buras, T. (2015).Loving Our Last Enemy. 1st ed. [ebook] Available at: [Accessed 27 Feb. 2015]. Spong, J. (2014).Resurrection. [S.l.]: HarperCollins e-Books. Wolterstorff, N. (1987).Lament for a son. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Eerdmans., (2015).Lament for a Son Summary. [online] Available at: [Accessed 27 Feb. 2015].

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.